California has one of the fairest wage and hour laws for workers. Still, there are chances that you might have disputes with your employer over the payout, or they may be maltreating you. You have a legal right to compensation if your employer violates the wage and working hours set by the state.
It’s essential to consult with a legal attorney to understand if you have a case and fight the case for you.
Know Different Types of Violations
You must know the types of labor and hour violations that your employer may be guilty of. These are:
- Payroll errors and illegal wage deductions
- Unpaid sales commissions within work hours and overtime
- Unpaid overtime
- Unpaid wages
- Paying less than the government-decided minimum wage
- Late payment at separation, regardless of the reasons for separation
- No access to rest breaks and meals
- No repayment to employees for work-related expenses
- Denial of vacation pays, time off, and other benefits
If any of the above violations happens to you, you should immediately contact Lehr Law, APC, and the law will hold your employer accountable for compensation.
Know Your Rights Under California State Laws
California state has extensive protection of civil and workers’ rights. They cover many vital violations done by employers. These laws go ahead of federal statutes and regulations to maximize workers’ benefits.
1. Minimum Wage Law
The minimum wage law states that from January 1st, 2021, companies with employees less than 25 must pay a minimum wage of $14/hour, and companies with a workforce bigger than 26 are liable to pay $15/hour.
The minimum wage should gradually increase to $15/hour by December 2022. The state sets these numbers. However, cities can have higher wage rates. If your employer misclassifies you as contractors to avoid overtime, they can face legal action.
California state overtime law applies to non-exempt employees only. The law also forbids employers to pressure employees to work overtime or off the clock. Employers are liable to pay one and a half times their regular pay rate if they work more than 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week. Employers who work 8 hours seven days a week are also entitled to overtime pay.
3. Double Time Pay
The hour and wage law also directs employers to pay twice the regular pay rate to employees who work more than 12 hours a day or more than 8 hours on the 7th day of the work week.
4. Meals and Rest Breaks
All non-exempt employees should get lunch and rest breaks. Employers who restrict them can be subjected to heavy penalties.
All non-exempt who work more than 5 hours should be given a minimum of 30 minutes for a meal break, and those who work more than 10 hours a day can get another 30 minutes’ meal break. Moreover, all non-exempt employees can have 10 minutes of rest break every 4 hours.
Who To Reach If Your Employers Violate The Wage and Hour Law?
If your employees violate any law above, you should immediately consult a law professional. It is best to have an experienced legal attorney help on board to get maximum compensation and guidance. Get in touch with the highly experienced wage and hour lawyers at Lehr Law, APC today to begin the journey to getting your life back to normal by calling (858) 240-9993 or by requesting a consultation online.